The 15 Best Entries to the INNOspace Masters 2020/21

The 15 winners of the innovation competition INNOspace Masters 2020/21 have been determined. A jury of experts selected visionary innovation projects from research institutions, SMEs and startups in fields such as medical technology, materials science and digitalisation. The winners of the five competition challenges will present their projects at the prestigious INNOspace Masters Conference and Award Ceremony in Berlin on 24 June 2021. The overall winner of the competition and the first places in each challenge will be announced and awarded at the conference.

Over the last few weeks, the 126 submitted ideas from 23 Countries have been evaluated by more than 40 experts in a multi-stage process and the 15 best projects selected:

Finalists DLR Challenge

  • QuVeKS – Dr Tobias Vogl, Institute for Applied Physics, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena
  • SpaceFlow – Jan Girschik, Fraunhofer UMSICHT
  • TOMOPLEX – Alexander Hilgarth, Prof. Sergio Montenegro, Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg

Finalists ESA BIC Challenge

  • Intelligent system maintenance and current monitoring – Katharina Ostaszewski, PhySens GmbH, TU Braunschweig
  • Micro G Scope – Jorge Remírez Miguel, Alfredo Martinez Ramirez, JMP ingenieros SL
  • SISSI – Marcus Witt, Metrom Mechatronische Maschinen GmbH

Finalists Airbus Challenge

  • ALReCo – Frank Koch, Orbit Recycling
  • DigiFarm – Nils Helset, Konstantin Varik, DigiFarm AS
  • Versatile approach for cloudless optical satellite data – Morten Fjord Pedersen, Malthe Dahl Jensen, ClearSky Vision

Finalists OHB Challenge

  • DEBRIS – Niklas Wendel, German Network of Young Scientists – juFORUM e.V.
  • DLTEO – Ignaty Romanov-Chernigovsky, DLTEO GmbH
  • Sustainable spacecraft propulsion by water as the expellant mass – Christian Stampa

Finalisten DB Netz AG Challgenge

  • Ai-powered aerial image analysis – enabling continuous monitoring of infrastructure & preventative maintenance– Adrian Sossna, HACARUS INC.
  • Magnetic rail infrastructure monitoring – Henriette Struckmann, PhySens GmbH
  • Monitoring of traffic routes by a solar-electric-powered ultralight aircraft and innovative multi-sensor 3D capturing and processing technology – Prof. Florian Siegert, Dr. Sven Schmid, 3D RealityMaps GmbH, Elektra Solar GmbH

INNOspace Masters Conference and Award Ceremony on 24 June 2021

The INNOspace Masters Conference and Award Ceremony will be held at the Humboldt Carré in Berlin on 24th June 2021 and will be live-streamed online.

The opening remarks will be given by Dr Walther Pelzer, Head of German Space Agency at DLR. This year’s conference will focus on the topic “Innovations for Sustainable Infrastructures – In Space and on Earth”. You can expect fascinating keynotes and panel discussions with leading stakeholders from politics and business addressing this subject. We look forward to contributions by:

  • Dr Josef Aschbacher, ESA Director General
  • Thomas Jarzombek, Federal Government Coordinator of German Aerospace Policy
  • Dr Walther Pelzer, Member of the DLR Executive Board, German Space Agency at DLR
  • Dr Matthias Maurer, German ESA Astronaut
  • Dr Christoph Wolff, Global Head of Mobility, Member of Executive Board, World Economic Forum
  • Andreas Lindenthal, Head of Business Operations Space Systems, Spacecraft Equipment, Space Systems Germany, Airbus
  • Dr Lutz Bertling, Member of the Executive Board, OHB SE
  • Dr Kristian Weiland, Chief Technology Officer, DB Netz AG

Participation in the conference and award ceremony is free of charge. Those wishing to participate are asked to register online in good time as places are limited.

Want to stay up to date?

Sign here: 

We don’t spam! Read our privacy police for more info.