The 15 Best Entries to the INNOspace Masters 2021/22

The 15 winners of the innovation competition INNOspace Masters 2021/22 have been determined. Five expert jurys selected visionary innovation projects from research institutions, SMEs and startups in fields such as satellite earth observation and satellite communication, medical technology, energy supply, materials science and digitalisation. The winners of the five competition challenges will present their projects at the prestigious INNOspace Masters Conference and Award Ceremony in Berlin on 5 July 2022. The overall winner of the competition and the first places in each challenge will be announced and awarded at the conference. Over the last few weeks, the 153 submitted ideas from 28 Countries have been evaluated by more than 40 experts in a multi-stage process and the 15 best projects selected: Finalists DLR Challenge
  • Ferrotherm – Dr Andreas Dietz, Fraunhofer IST, Volker Weiser, Fraunhofer ICT
  • Pre-Ignition Fire Detection System – Christian Eigenbrod, ZARM, University of Bremen
  • AEROstructure MULtifunctional cover against Environmental radiation – Tino Schmiel, Institute of Aerospace Engineering, TU Dresden, Fabian Schütt, Institute of Material Science, Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel
Finalists ESA BIC Challenge
  • Spacecopter – A Novel Technical Approach for Reusable Space Launch Vehicles – Sascha Larch, Dr Alexander Schwandt, Additive Space GmbH
  • MAS-Tech Solutions. Smartify your component – Severin Reiz, TUM SCCS, Maximilian Binder, Fraunhofer IGCV
  • HERA – Integration of active and passive thermal management system for batteries in electrical cars within a load-bearing structure – Tobias Meinert, RWTH Aachen University
Finalists Airbus Challenge
  • ROBI – The Radiation Monitor, Anirudh Sharma, Shreyas Mirji, Digantara
  • Graphene mirrors for lightweight optical systems – Dr Santiago Jose Cartamil Bueno, SCALE Nanotech
  • Fourth State Systems – From looking for life on Mars, to saving lives on Earth – Anders Persson, Fourth State Systems
Finalists OHB Challenge
  • HELIOS – The next step of interplanetary transportation – Danny Kirmse, Helios
  • AVES Reality – Semantic reconstruction of 3D digital world twin – Florian Albert, AVES Reality
  • Space – Mission Assurance Platform (Space – MAP) – Anirudh Sharma, Shreyas Mirji, Digantara
Finalists Mercedes-Benz car2space Challgenge
  • Xona Pulsar: High-Performance LEO Satellite Navigation – Brian Manning, Xona Space Systems Inc.
  • A scalable solution for lane level positioning – Nicolas Burger, Ludovic Privat, Geoflex
  • Satellite-direct-to-phone service everywhere on the planet – Margo Deckard, Tyghe Speidel, Mahmoud Khafagy, Lynk Global Inc.
INNOspace Masters Conference and Award Ceremony on 5 July 2022 The INNOspace Masters Conference and Award Ceremony will be held at the Humboldt Carré in Berlin on 5th July 2022 and will be streamed live online. The opening remarks will be given by Dr Walther Pelzer, Head of German Space Agency at DLR. This year’s conference will focus on the topic Sustainable and Efficient Innovations for Space and Earth”. You can expect fascinating keynotes and panel discussions with leading stakeholders from politics and business addressing this subject. We look forward to contributions by:
  • Dr Anna Christmann, Federal Government Coordinator of German Aerospace Policy
  • Timo Pesonen, Director General for Defence Industry and Space, European Commission
  • Catherine Kavvada, Director for Space Development & Innovation, Directorate General for Defence Industry and Space, European Commission
  • Dr Walther Pelzer, Member of the DLR Executive Board, German Space Agency at DLR
  • Dr Ulf Zillig, Vice President, Group Research, Sustainability & RD Functions, Mercedes-Benz Group AG
  • Jasmin Eichler, Director Future Technologies, Mercedes-Benz Group AG
  • Andreas Lindenthal, Head of Business Operations Space Systems, Airbus Defence and Space
  • Dr Lutz Bertling, Member of the Executive Board, OHB SE
  • Bülent Altan, Chief Executive Officer, Mynaric AG
Participation in the conference and award ceremony is free of charge. Those wishing to participate are asked to register online in good time as places are limited.

Want to stay up to date?

Sign here: 

We don’t spam! Read our privacy police for more info.